Announcements and Recognitions

Announcement of Workshops

2-year Colleges:

The SEATEC Professional Development Team (PD Team) provides workshops that are customized to best meet the needs of your faculty in the most productive format possible. Sessions can be scheduled in any format from two-hour inservice programs to $1 \frac{1}{2}$ –day workshops and are always conducted in an interactive, hands-on manner. The topics that can be addressed by our team of experts include:

- Introduction to the case method
- How to develop case studies in any discipline
- How to best incorporate case studies in your classroom
- · How to assess and evaluate case studies and group projects in your classroom
- Elements of critical thinking and classroom activities
- Elements of problem-based learning and classroom activities
- How to obtain industry support for your cases and class work
- How to develop a faculty internship program
- How to form case study support networks

For more information about scheduling an inservice program or workshop for your campus, please contact Tricia McKeon at (615) 353-3235 or mckeon t@nsti.tec.tn.us.

4-Year Colleges:

The Laboratory for Innovative Technology and Engineering Education will be hosting the fourth hands-on workshop in a series titled, "Bringing Theory and Practice Together in Engineering Classrooms," at Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama during March 21-23, 2002. This is a workshop for engineering faculty interested in developing effective strategies to prepare students for real-world problem-solving situations and training them in team building, interaction, and interdisciplinary skills. Dr. William Wulf, President of the National Academy of Engineering, and Dr. Dayne Aldridge, Dean of the College of Engineering at Mercer University and ABET Director, Dr. Richard Felder, Chemical Engineering, North Carolina State University, Dr. Russell Pimmell, Program Director, Division of Undergraduate Education, National Science Foundation, and Dr. Mario Letelier, Director, Center for Research in Creativity and Higher Education, University of Santiago de Chile, Chile will be the keynote speakers. Please see http://www.auburn.edu/research/litee for registration information. Contact Janice Drummond (334) 844-3360 or drummje@eng.suburn.edu for further information. If you are not able to attend this workshop, contact Ms. Drummond about the next offering or to schedule a workshop at your campus.

Announcement of New International Editorial Advisory Board Members

We are pleased to announce the following distinguished SMET Educators have agreed to join our International Editorial Advisory Board. We welcome them and look forward to their valuable input to the *Journal*.

Larry D. Benefield, Dean, Samuel Ginn college of Engineering, Auburn University, AL

- John D. Bransford, Centennial Professor Psychology, & Co-Director of the Learning Technology Center, Vanderbilt University, TN
- James Camerius, Professor of Marketing, Northern Michigan University, MI
- Richard M. Felder, Department of Chemical Engineering, North Carolina State University, NC
- James H. Lightbourne, Senior Science Advisor, Division of Undergraduate Education, National Science Foundation, Washington, D.C.

Lillian C. McDermott, Professor of Physics, University of Washington, WA

William H. Rauckhorst, Associate Provost & Professor, Physics Department, Miami University, OH

Phillip Wankat, Clifton L. Lovell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, Purdue University, IN

Recognitions

Dr. Dayne Aldridge, Dean, College of Engineering, Mercer University and a member of the International Editorial Advisory Board of the *Journal* has been appointed as the Adjunct Accreditation Director of Engineering by ABET. Dr. Aldridge is a Fellow of IEEE, ASEE and ABET and is a Register Professional Engineer. He is a past President of the IEEE Industry Applications Society and serves as Chairman of the Editorial Board of the IEEE Industry Applications Magazine. Dr. Aldridge has served the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET as its chair.

Dr. Winfred M. Phillips, Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School at the University of Florida and a member of the International Editorial Advisory Board of the *Journal*, has been named as the 2002 Chair of the American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES). Dr. Phillips has served the engineering education community in the past as follows: President of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), President of the American Society for Engineering Educators (ASEE), and President of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).

The NEEDS Consortium (National Engineering Education Delivery System; <u>www.needs.org</u>) presented its Premier Courseware 2001 award to **Wilson J. Pugh, Steve Crutchfield, His Chen Lee, and Seth Kahn,** all at Johns Hopkins University, for their work, *Signals, Systems, and Control.* The CD-ROM that is available from NEEDS also includes contributions from three other finalist candidates for the 2001 Premier Award: In *Hot water: A Cooling Tower Case Study* by Justin Cochran, P.K. Raju, and Chetan S. Sankar at Auburn University; *Vis-MOM* by Dan Jensen, United States Air Force Academy, John Wood, Colorado State University, and Dave Dimas, MSC Software; and *Virtual Car* by Michael J. Safoutin at the University of Washington.