# Journal of SMET Education: Innovations and Research

#### **Values**

- develop student thinking and problem solving
- integrate real world issues with theories in SMET
- respond to employer needs and expectations
- use educational research and student assessment to inform innovations in education

## Mission Statement

To promote high-quality undergraduate education in science, mathematics, engineering, and technology through peer reviewed articles that provide

- Case studies and other innovations in education
  - · Well founded in SMET content
  - · Informed by educational research
- Tested through assessment of impact on student learning
- Results from educational research that informs teaching and learning in SMET
- Recent developments that impact SMET education in such areas as policy and industry needs

## **Editors-in-Chief**

P. K. Raju

Thomas Walter Professor Director, LITEE Department of Mechanical Engineering 201 Ross Hall Auburn University, AL, 36849 Phone: (334) 844-3301 Fax: (334) 844-3307 Email: pkraju@eng.auburn.edu

Chetan S. Sankar

**Thomas Walter Professor** Department of Management 415 West Magnolia Avenue, Suite 401 Auburn University, AL, 36849 Phone: (334) 844-6504 Fax: (334) 844-5159 Email: sankacs@auburn.edu

#### **Editorial Assistant**

Janice Drummond Department of Mechanical Engineering 201 Ross Hall, Auburn University, AL 36849 Phone: (334) 844-3360 Fax: (334) 844-3307 Email: drummje@eng.auburn.edu

# International Editorial Advisory Board Members

Dayne Aldridge, Dean of Engineering, Mercer University, GA Timothy J. Anderson, Chairman and Professor, Chemical

Engineering Department, University of Florida, FL James L. Barrott, Associate VP of Technology, Chattanooga State Technical Community College, TN Larry D. Benefield, Dean, Samuel Ginn College of

Engineering, Auburn University, AL John D. Bransford, Centennial Professor of Psychology, and Co-Director of the Learning Technology Center; Vanderbilt University, TN

James Camerius, Professor, Northern Michigan University, MI Tim Edlund, Past President, NACRA, Morgan State University, MD

Don L. Evans, Director, Center for Research on Education in SMET, Arizona State University, AZ

Lyle Feisel, Retired, Dean Emeritus of Watson Engineering and

Applied Science, Binghampton University, NY

Richard M. Felder, Hoechst Celanese Professor Emeritus,
Department of Chemical Engineering, North Carolina State University, NC

Norman Fortenberry, Silver Springs, MD
Wallace T. Fowler, University Distinguished Teaching
Professor, The University of Texas at Austin, TX

Mythreyee Ganapathy, Software Engineer, Microsoft, Redmond, WA

Lothar Gaul, Director, Institut für Mechanik, University of Stuttgart,

Germany

Alain Gerard, Professor, Laboratoire de Mecanique Physique, Universite Bordeaux, France

George Hairston, CEO, Southern Nuclear Company, Birmingham, AL

Claudia House, Assistant Professor, English and Humanities Department, Nashville State Technical Community College, TN Gerald S. Jakubowski, President, ASEE, Washington, D.C.

and Dean, College of Science & Engineering, Loyola

Marymount University, CA

Jim Johnson, Dean, Business and Technologies, Nashville State Technical Community College, TN

Mario Letelier, Director, Center for Research in Creativity and Higher Education, University of Santiago de Chile, Chile James H. Lightbourne, Senior Science Advisor, Division of Undergraduate Education, National Science Foundation,

Arlington, VA

Lillian C. McDermott, Professor of Physics, University of Washington, WA

Patricia F. Mead, Senior Program Officer, National Academy of Engineering, Washington, DC Carolyn Meyers, Vice Chancellor (Academics), North Carolina A&T University, NC

Dilip K. Nag, Senior Lecturer, Civil Engineering, Monash University, Victoria, Australia

George Peterson, Executive Director, Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, Baltimore, MD

Winfred M. Phillips, Vice President for Research,

University of Florida, FL

Russell L. Pimmel, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering,

University of Alabama, AL

Karl-Heinz Rau, Professor, Pforzheim University, Germany
William H. Rauckhorst, Associate Provost & Professor,

Physics, Miami University, OH
Sydney Rogers, Vice President of Economic and Community Development, Director, SEATEC, Nashville State Technical Community College, TN

Eric Sheppard, National Science Foundation and Tuskegee

University, Tuskegee, AL Larry Shuman, Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, PA

Karl Smith, Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor of Civil

Engineering, University of Minnesota, MN

Nam P. Suh, Cross Professor and Head, Mechanical Engineering
Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

Gerard Voland, Associate Vice-President, Academic Affairs,

Illinois Institute of Technology, IL M.S. Wald, Editor-in-Chief, The International Journal of

Engineering Education, Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland **Phillip Wankat**, Clifton L. Lovell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, Purdue University, IN