# **Journal of STEM Education: Innovations and Research**

### **Ualues**

- develop student thinking and problem solving
- integrate real world issues with theories in STEM
- respond to employer needs and expectations
- use educational research and student assessment to inform innovations in education

### Editor-in-Chief

P. K. Raju

Thomas Walter Professor Director, LITEE Department of Mechanical Engineering 270 Ross Hall • Auburn University, AL, 36849 Phone: (334) 844-3301 • Fax: (334) 844-3307 Email: pkrajú@eng.auburn.edu

## **Managing Editor**

Chetan S. Sankar

Thomas Walter Professor Department of Management 415 West Magnolia Avenue, Suite 401 Auburn University, AL, 36849

Phone: (334) 844-6504 • Fax: (334) 844-5159

Email: sankacs@auburn.edu

#### **Mission Statement**

To promote high-quality undergraduate education in science, technology, engineering and mathematics through peer reviewed articles that provide

- Case studies and other innovations in education
- Well founded in STEM content
- · Informed by educational research
- Tested through assessment of impact on student learning
- Results from educational research that informs teaching and learning in STEM
- Recent developments that impact STEM education in such areas as policy and industry needs

#### **Editorial Assistants**

Janice Drummond

Department of Mechanical Engineering 270 Ross Hall, Auburn University, AL 36849 Phone: (334) 844-3360 • Fax: (334) 844-3307

Email: drummje@eng.auburn.edu

Miranda Martin

Department of Mechanical Engineering 270 Ross Hall, Auburn University, AL Phone: (334) 844-3360 • Fax: (334) 844-3307

Email: martim1@auburn.edu

## **International Editorial Advisory Board Members**

M. Dayne Aldridge, Adjunct Accreditation Director for Engineering, ABET, Washington, DC

Timothy J. Anderson, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs and Professor, Chemical Engineering, University of

Frank S. Barnes, Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO Larry D. Benefield, Dean, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering,

Auburn University, AL

Myles Boylan, Program Director, National Science Foundation
John D. Bransford, James W. Mifflin University Professorship and
Professor, College of Education, University of Washington, WA
James W. Camerius, Professor, Walker L. Cisler College of Business,

Northern Michigan University, MI K. Chandrasekaran, Dean and Professor, R.M.K. Engineering College, Kavaraipettai, Tamil Nadu State, INDIA

Tim Edlund, Past President, NACRA, Associate Professor, Earl G. Graves School of Business and Management, Morgan State University, MD

Don L. Evans, Faculty Emeritus, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University, AZ Lyle Feisel, Retired, Dean Emeritus of Thomas J. Watson School of

Engineering and Applied Science, Binghampton University, NY Richard M. Felder, Hoechst Celanese Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical Engineering, North Carolina State University, NC

Norman Fortenberry, Director, Center for the Advancement of Scholarship on Engineering Education, National Academy of Engineering, Washington, DC

Wallace T. Fowler, University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, The University of Texas at Austin, TX

Mythreyee Ganapathy, University Relations Manager, Microsoft India, Hyderabad, INDIA

Lothar Gaul, Director, Institut für Mechanik, University of Stuttgart, **GERMANY** 

Alain Gerard, Professor, Laboratoire de Mecanique Physique
Universite Bordeaux, FRANCE

George Hairston, Chairman, Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc., Birmingham, AL

Claudia House, Teacher, English Department, Shelbyville Central High School, TN

Frank Huband, Executive Director, American Society for Engineering Education, Washington, DC
Gerald S. Jakubowski, President, Rose-Hulman Institute for Technology,

Terre Haute, IN

Mario Letelier, Director, Center for Research in Creativity and Higher

Education, University of Santiago de Chile, CHILE

Lillian C. McDermott, Professor of Physics, University of Washington, WA

Patricia F. Mead, Professor, Optical Engineering, Norfolk State University, VA

Carolyn W. Meyers, President, Norfolk State University, VA

J. P. Moshen, President-Elect, American Society for Engineering Education (2009); Professor and Chair, Civil Engineering Department, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY

Dilip K. Nag, Senior Lecturer, Civil Engineering, Monash University, Victoria. AUSTRALIA

R. Natarajan, Director(Retired) Indian Institute of Technology; Chairman, Board for Information Technology Education Standards, Bangalore, India

George Peterson, Executive Director, Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, Baltimore, MD

Winfred M. Phillips, Vice President for Research and Dean, Graduate School, University of Florida, FL
Russell L. Pimmel, Program Director, CCLI/DUE, National Science

Foundation, Arlington, VA

Karl-Heinz Rau, Professor, Business School, Pforzheim University, **GERMANY** William H. Rauckhorst, Senior Associate to the Provost and Professor

of Physics, Miami University, OH Sydney Rogers, Executive Director, Alignment Nashville, TN Eric Sheppard, Dean, School of Engineering and Technology,

Hampton University, VA Larry J. Shuman, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs,

School of Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, PA Karl A. Smith, Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota, MN
Nam P. Suh, Ralph E. & Eloise F. Cross Professor and Director, Mechanical

Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA Gerard Voland, Dean, School of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science,

Indiana University – Purdue University, Fort Wayne, IN

Phillip C. Wankat, Clifton L. Lovell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering
and Director of Undergraduate Degree Programs, Purdue University, IN

Steve E. Watkins, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of

Missouri Rolla, MO