Ualues

- develop student thinking and problem solving
- integrate real world issues with theories in STEM
- respond to employer needs and expectations
- use educational research and student assessment to inform innovations in education

Editor-in-Chief

P. K. Raju

Thomas Walter Professor Director, LITEE Department of Mechanical Engineering 1418 Wiggins Hall • Auburn University, AL, 36849 Phone: (334) 844-3301 • Fax: (334) 844-3307 Email: pkraju@eng.auburn.edu

Managing Editor

Chetan S. Sankar

Thomas Walter Professor Department of Management 415 West Magnolia Avenue, Suite 401 Auburn University, AL, 36849 Phone: (334) 844-6504 • Fax: (334) 844-5159 Email: sankacs@auburn.edu

Mission Statement

To promote high-quality undergraduate education in science, technology, engineering and mathematics through peer reviewed articles that provide

- Case studies and other innovations in education
- Well founded in STEM content
- Informed by educational research
 Tested through assessment of impact on student learning
- Results from educational research that informs
- teaching and learning in STEM
- Recent developments that impact STEM education in such areas as policy and industry needs

Editorial Assistant

Anna Hewlett

Department of Mechanical Engineering 1418 Wiggins Hall, Auburn University, AL 36849 Phone: (334) 844-3360 • Fax: (334) 844-3307 Email: aeh0017@tigermail.auburn.edu

International Editorial Advisory Board Members

- M. Dayne Aldridge, Adjunct Accreditation Director for Engineering, ABET, Washington, DC,
- Timothy J. Anderson, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs and Professor, Chemical Engineering, University of Florida, FL
- Cynthia Atman, Director, Center for Engineering Learning and Teaching, University of Washington
- Frank S. Barnes, Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
- Larry D. Benefield, Dean, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering, Auburn University, AL
- Myles Boylan, Program Director, National Science Foundation John D. Bransford, James W. Mifflin University Professorship and
- Professor, College of Education, University of Washington, WA James W. Camerius, Professor, Walker L. Cisler College of Business,
- Northern Michigan University, MI K. Chandrasekaran, Dean and Professor, R.M.K. Engineering
- K. Chandrasekaran, Dean and Professor, H.M.K. Engineering College, Kavaraipettai, Tamil Nadu State, INDIA Tim Eduad Data Drasident NACEA Associate Defensor. For
- Tim Edlund, Past President, NACRA, Associate Professor, Earl G. Graves School of Business and Management, Morgan State University, MD
- Don L. Evans, Faculty Emeritus, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University, AZ
- Lyle Feisel, Retired, Dean Emeritus of Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science, Binghampton University, NY
- Richard M. Felder, Hoechst Celanese Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical Engineering, North Carolina State University, NC
- Norman Fortenberry, Executive Director, American Society for Engineering Education, Washington, DC
- Wallace T. Fowler, University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, The University of Texas at Austin, TX
- Eli Fromm, Director, Center for Educational Research, Drexel University Mythreyee Ganapathy, University Relations Manager, Microsoft India,
- Mythreyee Ganapathy, University Helations Manager, Microsoft Inc Hyderabad, INDIA
- Lothar Gaul, Director, Institut für Mechanik, University of Stuttgart, GERMANY
- Alain Gerard, Professor, Laboratoire de Mecanique Physique, Universite Bordeaux, FRANCE

- George Hairston, Retired Chairman, Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc., Birmingham, AL
- Gerald S. Jakubowski, President, Rose-Hulman Institute for Technology, Terre Haute, IN
- Mario Letelier, Director, Center for Research in Creativity and Higher Education, University of Santiago de Chile, CHILE
- Lillian C. McDermott, Professor of Physics, University of Washington, WA Patricia F. Mead, Professor, Optical Engineering, Norfolk State
- University, VA Carolyn W. Meyers, President, Jackson State University, Jackson, MS
- J. P. Moshen, Past President, American Society for Engineering Education (2009); Professor and Chair, Civil Engineering Department, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
- R. Natarajan, Director(Retired) Indian Institute of Technology; Chairman, Board for Information Technology Education Standards, Bangalore, INDIA
- George Peterson, Executive Director, Accreditation Board for
- Engineering and Technology, Baltimore, MD Winfred M. Phillips, Vice President for Research and Dean, Graduate
- School, University of Florida, FL Russell L. Pimmel. Program Director, CCLI/DUE, National Science
- Foundation, Arlington, VA
- Karl-Heinz Rau, Professor, Business School, Pforzheim University, GERMANY
- William H. Rauckhorst, Senior Associate to the Provost and Professor of Physics, Miami University, OH
- Sydney Rogers, Executive Director, Alignment Nashville, TN
- Fric Sheppard, Dean, School of Engineering and Technology, Hampton University, VA
- Larry J. Shuman, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, PA
- Karl A. Smith, Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota, MN
- Nam P. Suh, President of the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
- Gerard Voland, Provost, University of Michigan, Flint, MI
- Phillip C. Wankat, Clifton L. Lovell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director of Undergraduate Degree Programs, Purdue University, IN
 Steve E. Watkins, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of
- Missouri Rolla, MO