### Values

- develop student thinking and problem solving
- integrate real world issues with theories in STEM
- respond to employer needs and expectations
- use educational research and student assessment to inform innovations in education

# **Mission Statement**

To promote high-quality undergraduate education in science, technology, engineering and mathematics through peer reviewed articles that provide

- Case studies and other innovations in education
  - Well founded in STEM content
  - Informed by educational research
  - Tested through assessment of impact on student learning
- Results from educational research that informs teaching and learning in STEM
- Recent developments that impact STEM education in such areas as policy and industry needs

#### Editor-in-Chief

PK. Raju, Ph.D. Department of Mechanical Engineering 1418 Wiggins Hall, Auburn University, AL 36849 Phone: (334) 844-3301 Fax: (334) 844-3307 Email: pkraju@auburn.edu

Managing Editor Murty P Raju, M.S., Georgia Tech; D.E., Columbia University 699 Coligny Court, Atlanta, GA 30350 Phone: (678) 313-9672 Email: Murty\_raju@yahoo.com

#### Associate Editor

Eliza Banu, Ph.D. School of ECAM, College of Engineering, The University of Georgia 597 D.W. Brooks Dr, Athens, GA, 30602 Phone:(706) 542-8869

Editorial Assistants Amy Clark Department of Mechanical Engineering 3440 Wiggins Hall, Auburn University, AL 36849 Phone: (843) 598-4510 Fax: (334) 844-3307

Sarah E. Franklin Biological Engineering The University of Georgia Phone: (706) 936-7447

Managing Editor (Emeritus) Chetan S. Sankar Auburn University Phone: (334) 524-6436 Email: azc0079@auburn.edu

Email: Eliza.Banu@uga.edu

Email: sef99837@uga.edu

Email: sankacs@auburn.edu

## International Editorial Advisory Board Members

Stephanie G Adams, Dean and Lars Magnus Ericsson Chair, University of Texas at Dallas

- M. Dayne Aldridge, Adjunct Accreditation Director for Engineering, ABET, Washington DC
- Timothy J. Anderson, Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA
- Cynthia Atman, Founding Director, Center for Engineering Learning and Teaching, University of Washington, WA
- Frank S. Barnes, Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO

Myles Boylan, Program Director, National Science Foundation

- John D. Bransford, James W. Mifflin University, Professorship and Professor, College of Education, University of Washington, WA
- Monica F. Cox, Professor & Chair, Department of Engineering Education, College of Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
- Victor L. Cubillos, Rector, Universidad Austral de Chilie, Valdivia, CHILE
- Virginia Davis, Daniel F. and Josephine Breedent Professor of Chemical Engineering, Auburn University, AL
- Tim Edlund, Past President, NACRA, Associate Professor, Earl G. Graves School of Business and Management, Morgan State University, MD
- Lyle Feisel, Retired, Dean Emeritus of Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science, Binghampton University, NY
- Richard Felder, Hoechst Celanese Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, North Carolina State University, NC
- Norman Fortenberry, Executive Director, American society for Engineering Education, Washington DC

Eli Fromm, Director, Center for Educational Research, Drexel University

- Lothar Gaul, Director, Institut fur Mechanik, University of Stuttgart, GERMANY
- Alain Gerard, Professor, Laboratoire de Mecanique Physique, Universite Bordeaux, FRANCE

**George Hairston**, Retired Chairman, Southern Nuclear Operating Company, Inc., Birmingham, AL Aditya Johri, Professor, Department of Information Sciences & Technology, George Mason University, VA

Mario Letelier, Director, Center for Research in Creativity and Higher Education, University of Santiago de Chile, CHILE

Carolyn W. Meyers, Former President, Jackson State University, Jackson, MS

J.P. Moshen, Past President, American Society of Engineering Education, Associate Dean of Engineering, University of Louisville, KY

George Peterson, Executive Director Emeritus, Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, Baltimore, MD

Winfred M. Phillips, Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, University of Florida, FL

Karl-Heinz Rau, Professor, Business School, Pforzheim University, GERMANY

- Joseph J. Rencis, Dean of Engineering, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Cal Poly, Pomona, CA
- Christopher Roberts, Dean, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering, Auburn University, AL

Sydney Rogers, Executive Director, Alignment, Nashville, TN

- Eric Sheppard, Program Director National Science Foundation, Washington DC
- Larry J. Shuman, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, PA
- Karl A. Smith, Morse-Alumni distinguished Teaching Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota, MN

Rick Stamper, Provost and VP of Academic Affairs, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, IN

- Nam P. Suh, Former President, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), KOREA
- Phillip C. Wankat, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering, Purdue University, IN
- Steve E. Watkins, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Missouri Rolla, MO